## Minutes of the urgent Meeting of the Senate held on 1<sup>st</sup> July 2003 at 11.00 A.M. in the Auditorium of the Civil Engineering Department.

## The following were present:

1. Prof. M.L.Kapoor, Actg Director

2. Prof. Najamuddin

3. Prof. S. D. Bhattacharya

4. Prof. S. C. Gupta

5. Prof. I. M. Mishra

6. Prof. Surendra Kumar

7. Prof. B. K. Mohanty

8. Prof. A. K. Jain, Chemistry Deptt.

9. Prof. G. Bhattacharjee

10. Prof. R. N. Goyal

11. Prof. Ravi Bhushan

12. Prof. A. N. Garg

13. Prof. Anil Kumar

14. Prof. (Mrs) Mala Nath

15. Prof. K.G.Ranga Raju

16. Prof. P.C. Jain

17. Prof. Krishan Kumar

18. Prof. M.K.Mittal

19. Prof. H. C. Mehndiratta

20. Prof. Arvind Kumar

21. Prof. N.M.Bhandari

22. Prof. N.Puri

23. Prof. P.K.Jain

24. Prof. V.K.Gupta

25. Prof. R.M. Vasan

26. Prof. S.S.Jain

27. Prof. Deepak Kashyap

28. Prof. (Mrs.) Renu Bhargava

29. Prof. S. Basu

30. Prof. H. R. Wason

31. Prof. A. K. Aswasthi

32. Prof. R.N.Mishra

33. Prof. R. C. Joshi

34. Prof. S.K. Verma

35. Prof. S. N. Sinha

36. Prof. Padam Kumar

37. Prof. Ranvir Singh

38. Prof. Sabiruddin

39. Prof. D. K. Nauriyal

40. Prof. (Ms.) Asha Kapoor

41. Prof. (Mrs) Renu Rastogi

42. Prof. M. C. Bansal

Chairman

- 43. Prof. U. S. Gupta
- 44. Prof. G. S. Srivastava
- 45. Prof. S. P. Sharma
- 46. Prof. T. R. Gulati
- 47. Prof. P.N.Agarwal
- 48. Prof. R. C. Mittal
- 49. Prof. V.K.Goel
- 50. Prof. S. C. Jain
- 51. Prof. D.B.Goel
- 52. Prof. Ishwar Singh
- 53. Prof. A.K.Jain
- 54. Prof. Vir Singh
- 55. Prof. Gopal Chauhan
- 56. Prof. U. C. Chaube
- 57. Prof. M. P. Jain
- 58. Mr. Arun Kumar, Head, AHEC
- 59. Dr. R. P. Singh, Head, Biotechnology
- 60. Dr. Rashmi Gaur
- 61. Dr. Ajai Gairola
- 62. Lt.Col. (Retd.) A.K.Srivastava, Registrar

Secretary

The Senate recorded the apologies received from the following members for not attending the meeting.

Prof. A.K.Mathur, Civil Engineering Department.

Prof. R.P.Agarwal, E.& C.E Department

Prof. H.Sinvhal, Earth Sciences Department

Prof.A.K.Singh, Department of Paper Technology, Saharanpur Campus

Prof. B.D.Indu, Physics Department

The Chairman (Director) welcomed the members to the urgent meeting of the Senate and stated that the urgent meeting was convened to discuss some urgent issues. Before taking up the agenda item, the Senate thanked Prof. K.G.Ranga Raju for his valuable contributions in the meetings of the Senate as Dy. Director.

The Senate also welcomed Prof. M.L.Kapoor as Dy. Director and expected his valuable contribution and active participation in its functioning.

The agenda was then taken up.

1.0 Considered the award of Honoris Causa degree to be conferred on the occasion of Convocation- 2003 (3<sup>rd</sup> Convocation).

The Senate RESOLVED that the name of Mr. Azim Premji, President, WIPRO be recommended for the conferment of Honoris Causa Degree on the eve of Annual

Convocation 2003. The Senate further RESOLVED that after obtaining the approval of the Chairman, Board of Governors through a U.O.Note, the same may be sent to MHRD for specific approval of the Visitor.

2.0 Considered the policy/ guidelines for (1) laying down criteria for award of Institutional/ Sponsored medals and prizes (2) Institute scholarship fund be set up to be administered by the Institute made by person and/ or bodies, associated/ not associated with the Institute.

At the outset, Prof. S.C.Jain, Dean UGS briefed the Senate about the salient features of the issue.

After deliberation, the reports submitted by Prof. N.M.Bhandari Committee and Prof. R.P.Agarwal Committee alongwith proforma for instituting new medals/ scholarships etc. were approved with some modifications. Revised report shall be sent to members of the senate for comments. The members of the Senate were asked to send their suggestions, if any, to the Dean, UGS immediately to incorporate in proforma. The Dean UGS may incorporate the suggestions from the members and the same be placed before the Chairman for approval on behalf of the Senate.

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chair.

## INDIAN INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY, ROORKEE **ROORKEE – 247 667**

No.IITR/MS/SENATE(7/2003)/201

Copy forwarded to all Members of the Senate.

Dated: 4<sup>th</sup> July 2003

(A. K. Srivastava) Lt. Col. (Retd.)

Registrar